Reprieve

A delightfully impudent book character shoves a dastardly note and drawing of her teacher into her teacher’s bag after being punished for a transgression in school that day. After dismissal – she opens her own schoolbag to find not only a note of forgiveness from her teacher, but a consoling snack as well. With that discovery, she instantly regrets her cheeky behavior and is desperate to take it all back.

Too late.

Much to my chagrin, I have been in Lily’s shoes more times than I care to remember, today being one of them.

A few months ago I ordered and received a new floor lamp for our dining room, only to discover that the design of lamp was flawed and it could not be assembled properly. Annoyed, I boxed it all up and returned it, disappointed that the lamp I had finally found to match our needs and the decor of the room was not to be.

Did I mention that in my extreme irritation I also wrote a scathing online review of the lamp?

Well, I did.

Just call me Lily.

One would think after prior regrets that I might have learned not to act in haste. I have always thought that, “Respond – don’t react,” was a very good mantra. The problem is that it rarely comes to mind in the heat of the moment.

So, back to the lamp.

Weeks went by in which time I got my refund and kind of forgot about the whole incident. That is, until I got a note of apology from the lamp company explaining their wish to send me a replacement lamp free of charge in addition to the full compensation I had already received .

Humph! I’ll see it when I believe it, I thought.

Lily strikes again.

So today, the new lamp came. It assembled quickly and easily and it is exactly what I was hoping for. Just perfect!

Well, not really. It’s perfect except for that nagging, caustic review…that nasty note I shoved into the teacher’s bag.

If only I could take it back – If only I hadn’t been so impulsive, if only I hadn’t been so righteous, if only…

Lily’s recalcitrant wail echoed in my mind:

“WHY DOES EVERYTHING ALWAYS HAPPEN TO ME?”

Desperately I grabbed my phone to dash out another review, a glowing review, a redemptive review – a frantic attempt to undo the harshness of my first judgement.

I quickly clicked to “My Account,” clicked to “My Orders,” clicked to “Write a Review,” clicked to “Open,” and there it was – my original review, written in all of its indignation, penned in bold fury – still there, untouched and most importantly – unsent.

I HAD FORGOTTEN TO HIT “SUBMIT!”

The review had never been sent.

A tumult of relief WHOOSHED over me. In the moments that followed I wrote a thoughtful, measured, heartfelt review for the lamp and the company that stood behind their product.

I consider this merciful reprieve a plaintive plea from the universe: “Respond – don’t react!”

even in the heat of the moment.

Lily – I love you dearly, but let’s keep it fiction.

Okay?

8 thoughts on “Reprieve

  1. Very good! I am in the same boat with a Faucet company. No public note sent as yet but a frustrated one sent today. I got a quick reply saying they will review on Monday. Now I am wondering if my first attempts never reached them. Thanks for this little reminder to be thoughtful when communicating.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my goodness, I love this post! And I love Lily’s Purple Plastic Purse! We all have a little Lily in us and I think it is so awesome that the company actually reached out and corrected the problem even though they didn’t know about, “the scathing review”. What a wonderful tale and wonderfully told!

    Like

  3. You know my weakness for symbolism, and that lamp is a powerful one on multiple levels here. It represents enlightenment traditionally, and certainly in this piece as well. But it also fittingly stands for redemption. The irony at the end also underscores that. I like to think that something unconscious in you prevailed over your disappointment in that moment–and redeemed you later. And the metaphor–the online review box is the teacher’s bag–that is brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment