It’s All in the Name?

Yoga and my husband have both given me many things for which I am grateful, and on this occasion the two of them combined to give me a good laugh. Two years ago, my asana practice moved from the studio to an-at-home practice for obvious reasons. At the time, I was lucky enough to find a terrific yoga app that continues to enhance my practice. With each use, the app generates a unique session based on the user’s specifications. Among other things, I can choose the level of difficulty, background music, cueing intensity, the voice of the instructor, and the duration. And after shavasana – if I really like the practice – I can opt to save it to my “Favorites” list for future use.

Once a practice is “Saved to Favorites,” I can rename it – which I always love to do. I love to rename the practices that I love. I try to make each new name as appealing as possible and reflective of it’s unique sequence of poses. If I’m lucky, I’m able to come up with a moniker that hints at what is in store during the session. That way, I have an idea of what to expect when I choose that exercise again. For instance, the name “Sole Sundial” tells me that this one has a “sundial” stretch in it as well as padahastasana pose, which is one of my favorites. Padahastasana is when the yogi slides the entire palm of each hand under the sole of the corresponding foot while in a forward fold position (hence the “sole” part of the name).

Makes sense, right?

So one day, I was telling my husband how much I love this app and that this was evidenced by the long list of “Favorite” practices I had accumulated and redubbed.

“Would you like to hear some of the names?” I asked.

“Sure,” he replied.

“Okay, great. Here’s one –

Heart Flow,” I said.

“Hmmmm….”

“Here are a few more….Airy Asana, Humble Warrior, Plentiful Portion, and Bliss Balance.”

“Pretty good,” he responded. “Mind if I try a few titles?” he asked.

“Oh, sure!” I squealed in excitement (maybe he is finally seeing the real benefits of a consistent yoga practice, I thought to myself).

“Okay,” he said, “toss out a name.”

Me: Soul Swirl

Him: Call an Ambulance

Me: Wistful Willow Wander

Him: Jaws of Life

Me: Luxurious Immersion

Him: O.M.G.

Through tears of laughter I had to admit; though he may not take to the mat, he does have a way with words.

15 thoughts on “It’s All in the Name?

  1. I love this post! I laughed out loud at your husband’s names. Also, your yoga practice is inspiring! What app are you using (or did I miss the name because I was so focused on your lovely names and your husbands dose of realism?)

    Like

    1. I know, right? And just when I though I had him in my pocket! Ive been using the Down Dog app, and I beleive it is still free for teachers as it has been for the duration of the covid restrictions.

      Like

  2. Oh, this was so cute! I loved the dialogue between you two — made me giggle. And you also gave me a nudge to recapture my yoga practice, which was so steady before covid!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like the app almost as much as the studio, and it;s so convenient! Get back to it – maybe after this month of blogging??? I’ll admit – the yoga falls away a bit (but not completely!) while I’m blogging this month.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post, Deb. I had no idea about the practice of saving practices. It’s kinda like a workout routine that one does over and over. Cool beans, as a certain someone would say.

    Like

Leave a comment