The Possibilities are Endless

One of my students loves cows.

In fact, she announced at morning meeting that she is hoping for a cow for her birthday next week. Mindful of the suburban enclave in which we attend school and reside, I can surmise with a degree of certitude that she is unlikely to get the cow. Yet, she remains exuberantly hopeful – and I can’t blame her. She is seven; her reasoning is sound and makes perfect sense.

A pet cow would eliminate having to mow the lawn and buy milk, and according to her generous estimate, their fenced in yard will provide ample acreage for a bovine pet to roam at leisure – rarely do cows crash fences into adjoining neighborly properties. When the weather gets cold or rainy, she will merely lead it to the garage for shelter and safe-keeping.

I know exactly where she is coming from because I was her once.

My passion was horses, and I was desperate to have one of my own. I had done everything that one could possibly do in a suburban family of eight with horses except to invest in ownership, and the time had come for that to change. It was time to take the plunge and make that commitment, I reasoned to myself. After all, I had done the preliminary research. I spent captivating hours reading about the equine species; Margaret Henry had kept me steeped in fodder for years: Justin Morgan Had a Horse, Misty of Chincoteague, and Album of Horses, were biblical in their relevance to my life at the time. I knew all of the famous Triple Crown winners, and the years they won, I could identify every breed, knew what it was used for, and the differences between each. I spent hours upon hours drawing horses. To this day, I can still draw a darn good horse without much effort at all. My ability stemmed from knowing the anatomy of horses so well. As I drew, my brain named the parts: fetlock, cannon, withers, crest, poll. I even accompanied my best friend to her weekly riding lessons, and finagled my way into a stable-hand job for the hour that she was riding each week.

It was clear to me that the only thing left was to actually purchase a horse.

Before approaching my parents about this proposal, I carefully inspected my plan for the customary loopholes and arguments that they would undoubtedly unearth. I prepared clever solutions for each. I was fairly certain that my strategy was without flaws.

My first step was to ask for a ten year advance on my allowance. At a dollar a week, this would provide me with enough cash to buy a wizened old gelding who had been put out to pasture. After all, I was going for a gentle family pet, not a sleek breeder stallion. As for stabling, I couldn’t remember the last time we had squeezed our car in the over-flowing garage, so that was the obvious place for the new steed (after we got rid of the junk). I was more than willing to clean out the garage and do other odd jobs around the house to earn money to pay for its food. And luckily, we lived on a dead-end street with only nine houses. Surely I could cash in on our friendly relations with the neighbors and ask them to turn a blind eye while I rode the trotter up and down the street after school.

It seemed fool-proof.

I still remember the scene as it unfolded at the kitchen table after dinner. I astutely planned it so that my parents were both well-fed and relaxed. I dawdled with dishes until my siblings left the room and then launched my proposition.

As you might have imagined, my grand assertion did not go as swimmingly as I would have liked. In hindsight, my strategy was all wrong; I should never have led off with the ten-year advance on my allowance. It went horribly downhill from that leadoff request, and I never regained solid footing.

At tomorrow’s morning meeting we will find out if there is a new bovine companion in my student’s life. I hope that she has better luck than I did convincing her family of the urgency and feasibility of her dream. Even if it doesn’t come to fruition, it is wonderfully magical to be in her shoes. To be steeped in the possibilities of a world without boundaries when you are seven, or eight, or ten, or even older.

I also know someone who wants to be a deer when she grows up.

7 thoughts on “The Possibilities are Endless

  1. “I also know someone who wants to be a deer when she grows up.” 😂 Great ending.
    I loved this whole thing. I loved all of your descriptive words. I couldn’t pick a favorite because you just kept beautifully weaving them in.

    And I love the whole idea of this slice. The unbound possibilities of a child’s mind. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This post had me smiling all the way through! I loved your planning — making sure your parents were well-fed and relaxed. I too wanted a horse, but spent my childhood collecting Breyer plastic horses and keeping them in the wooden play barn I got for my birthday.

    However, when my first grade class got an incubator and chicken eggs, I convinced my parents we needed to have a chicken in our suburban yard — and they agreed! Thanks for bringing back the memory.

    I hope your student reports progress tomorrow morning! Your slice is hope writ large.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my goodness – I loved every bit of this post. From “exuberantly hopeful” through your student’s planning and your own wonderful story, I was with you every step of the way. How wonderful that you can remember this; how wonderful that you can so thoroughly empathize with this child. I’m not going to lie, I have my fingers crossed for her cow. You never know. And if not a cow, maybe she can talk them into a cat or something…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! All true – and I love the way being around the little guys helps me to relive these moments and be mindful of how important they are at the time, no matter the age! Thank you for reading me:)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Deb! You walked down my memory lane! How did you do that! And as you know, I have a horse on my board in my classroom at this moment that I drew for one of my students destined to also walk through your memory lane! My brothers still tease me, “What does Suzanne want for Christmas, let’s see, her list says, ‘A horse, a horse, a horse!’” I love how you captured the tale (tail?) of every young horse lover here with this post! It is wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We have parallel lives! So cool, isn’t it? I had a feeling once I read Margaret Henry mentioned in one of your earlier slices. Thank you for the inspriation and the affirmation:)

      Like

Leave a comment