A Waltz? Seriously?

I have the notion that my life is a musical.

Kind of nice, right?

It is my experience that music makes almost any situation better. I listen a lot, and have a collection of playlists for varied moods and occasions. When something is happening, I am inclined to add tunes to the event. Though not the best at preparing food, I’ll happily contribute melodic ambiance at a moment’s notice.

Friday night charcuterie? Got it.

BBQ on the patio with friends? Done.

Summer solstice celebration? Why, certainly!

Jazz brunch on the front porch? Word.

Robbie Burns night mid-January? Say no more.

Awesome road trip? Of course!

Beach weekend? Dude.

Autumn Equinox assemblage? Not a problem.

Morning yoga at dawn? I’m there.

With all of these compilations, I notice that the tunes that catch my attention immediatley are the ones with a 3/4 tempo.

The waltzes.

Waltzes? Are you kidding me?

Well now, wait just a minute there!

Here are a few songs I am thinking about when I hear that 1,2,3, 1,2,3, 1,2,3, rhythm.

Do you recognize a few?

Open Arms – Journey

Can’t Help Falling in Love – Elvis

Norwegian Wood – The Beatles

When Irish Eyes are Smiling – The Irish Tenors

Piano Man – Billy Joel

Can I Have This Dance? – Anne Murray

Look at Us – Vince Gill

That’s Amore – Dean Martin

Morning Has Broken – Cat Stevens

Annie’s Song – John Denver

Que Sera Sera – Doris Day

The Rainbow Connection – Kermit the Frog

Moon River – Andy Williams

Hallelujah — Leonard Cohen

and

What a Wonderful World – Louis Armstrong

There are tons more to add to this list including tunes by Metallica, Queen, Goo Goo Dolls, Seal, and Nickelback. So, you can see that waltzes come in all genres. Just listen for that 1,2,3, 1, 2, 3… beat and you’ll know you’ve got one.

I bet you didn’t know you love a good waltz, yourself!

Here is one of my favorites that you may not be as familiar with…

7 thoughts on “A Waltz? Seriously?

  1. The waltz is definitely the foundation to a lotta great tuneage. If it’s good enough for Leonard Cohen, it’s good enough for me! Thanks

    Like

  2. Oh, I love this! My husband and I are traveling today and listened to the song – I loved watching them do the Opry shows when the world was shut down with Covid. There they were on the stage, just the two of them, singing like the audience was full when there was no one there except the world.

    Like

    1. I had no idea about the connection to the human heartbeat, but that is really cool. I often wonder whether other people respond the same way to that 3/4 beat, or not. Your comment leads me to believe that I am not the only one 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment